Morning runner, but not a morning person

I am not a morning person.  Ever since high school, when my dad would literally have to throw water on my face sometimes to get me up and going for school, I have been a grumpy, half-coherent, don’t-talk-to-me-it’s-too-early person.  Now into adulthood when my 20 month old wakes me at 6:00am, it is only out of sheer love and devotion towards him that I’m able to greet him cheerfully, pull him onto my lap, and through blurry-eyes read him a story first thing.  I nurse my first cup of coffee like it’s the life-giving liquid that it is…and subtly, slowly it thaws me out and warms me up to tackle the day.  So why does a non-morning person run in the morning?  Simple.  Like coffee, it helps me kick-start my day.  I’ve tried running at other times: mid-morning, noon, afternoon, late afternoon, night…but I’ve found that first thing in the morning is what makes me feel my best.  It gets my feet pounding and my blood moving, despite having to wake at 5:00am to be done by the time my husband’s off to work.  It gives me an already sense of accomplishment that I’ve exercised, showered, and am ready to face the day.  Plus the stillness of the wee hours of daybreak is unlike any other time to run.  I leave my house in pitch blackness and return at dawn, watching the sky lighten, the sun rise, and the earth slowly wake from it’s slumber.  I get to witness the majesty of a sunrise, the dawn of another day, the grace of God who’s mercies are new every morning.  Every dawn I’m reminded that God has created and empowered another day into existence.  He doesn’t have to.  He can stop another day from happening anytime He wants to.  But He chooses to extend creation, to let another dawn rise.  Here are a few Scripture references to dawn.

“Because of the tender mercy of our God, with which the Sunrise from on high will visit us” ~Luke 1:78

“Then your light will break out like the dawn, and your recovery will speedily spring forth”~Isaiah 58:8

“Arise, shine; for your light has come,”~Isaiah 60:1

“So we have the prophetic word made more sure, to which you do well to pay attention as to a lamp shining in a dark place, until the day dawns and the morning star arises in your hearts.”~2 Peter 1:19

I’m left to the stillness and quietness of my thoughts, before the world awakes, before the noise and chaos and distractions occur.  This is why I’m a proud proponent of running first thing.

  • When is your optimal time to exercise?  Can you experience the difference of exercising outdoors versus indoors?
  • What does dawn represent to you?
Leave a Reply

